So remember how I was raving about the fact that I had a handicapped room yesterday? Yeah not so much. My room is still pretty awesome and huge and everything, but for some reason the people at accommodations decided it was a really good idea to make the door to the handicapped room the only one in the flat that locks automatically. Which if you think about it is really stupid, because what if a person who really needs help falls and has their key in the room with them? Well then someone has to walk all the way to main reception and find a security guard to come back with her and unlock the door. Why do I know this? From experience.
Not that I fell or anything, but 48 hours into my big trip I already locked my keys in my room. Shocker I know. The security guard was really cool about it, so at first I didn't feel like to big of an idiot. He got my door unlocked quick and easy and when he left everything was all good. So my flatmate and I walked into the city to try and find a group of people who had gone to a local pub. We got like halfway there when a pigeon decided Andrea's shoe looked like a really good place to take a dump, which should have told us right away how this little adventure would go. Basically we walked like a mile into the city center in crappy shoes just to find out that people were not at the pub we thought they were going too.
So then we walked back, which honestly was fine, and I bought my first bottle of wine (!!!) and went back to the flats. There were some more people there so we all decided to head out again to a small place close by and a good time was had by all. I was all good and responsible and headed back before midnight because I knew we had to be somewhere the next day by 9:15. So remember the part where I locked myself out of my room? Yeah. Because apparently I am not the sort of girl who can just lock herself out once. I am the sort of girl who loses her key card somewhere and has to stay on someone else's couch (Don't panic mom and dad, this was a very nice girl from Minnesota).
But luckily I also have a cool flatmate who found my card key, which means I don't have to be that girl who tells her adviser that I lost it on the second day. YAY!
Note the pretty pink baby stroller behind the danger keep out sign.
Interesting fact about England: They don't call bathrooms bathrooms. Instead they are either toilets or WC's. Also here they have .1 and 4% milk.


No comments:
Post a Comment